Tuesday, 1 September 2015

DSS releases names of 21 suspected Boko Haram leaders

The Nigerian Department of State Security (DSS) has released the identities of 21 people who were arrested in different parts of the country and are alleged to be front-line members of Boko Haram.

Read more after the cut....

According to statement signed by Mr Tony Opuiyo, the DSS explained that the successful arrest is as a result of the services ''restrategised measures to combat the insurgency menace''.

The suspects were said to be arrested in Enugu, Lagos, Plateau, Gombe and Kano states between July 8 to August 25, 2015.

''They include those allegedly responsible fro the coordination and execution of the suicide attacks in Potiskum, Zaria, Jos and Kano who were arrested on the 8th of July in Gombe State'' the statement said.

The suspects were named by the DSS include  Usman Shuaibu a.k.a money, said to be the coordinator of the suicide attacks, Ahmed Mohammed also known as Abubakar, an Improvised Explosives (IED) expert, who said to have prepared the IEDs for the attacks. 

Others are Ibrahim Isa, Adamu Abdullahi, who allegedly carried out targets in Jos, and Mutaqqa Yusuf who is said to have assisted Usman Shuaibu in planning and executing the attacks.

The DSS also said that ''Shuaibu and his group were intercepted on their way to Bauchi State, where they had planned to execute another bomb attack, saying their arrest has stemmed the spate of bombings by the sect.

12 other suspects are said to be have been arrested in Lagos State, while three were nabbed in Kano, Enugu and Gombe States. According to the DSS, the group has been forced into a new pattern of movement owing to the pressure being put to them in their core areas of strength in the north-east.


No comments:

Post a Comment