Thursday, 23 July 2015

Jega to receive award

Professor Jega the immediate past chairman of (INEC) is among the three people to receive the Charles T. Manatt Democracy award. He was named by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES). According to the IFES President and CEO, Bill Sweeney, Jega is being honoured for his handling ''Nigeria's successful elections in 2015.''

Read more after the cut.....

''He deserves full credit for his efforts to increase the credibility and transparency of the electoral process under extreme logistical challenges, such as threats from Boko Haram, where failure could prove the catalyst predicted election violence,'' Sweeney added.

Jega said ''he is deeply honoured to accept the IFES award.''

The other two to be honoured are Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif) and congressman Ed Royce (R-Calif).

The award ceremony is scheduled to hold on the 29th of September in Washington DC. 

No comments:

Post a Comment